jump to navigation

Begin with the Ending July 26, 2016

Posted by PythonGuy in Uncategorized.
trackback

I don’t know what it is, but I’m working on a team now where some people like to write a bunch of code, test it, and then integrate. To me, that feels backwards.

My preferred order is: write a tiny bit of code, integrate that, and then write a lot of code, testing the integration along the way. Unit tests and such often come last, and then only when I’m not able to easily test with integration tests.

The way you do this is through scaffolding. Say you have a client and a server. I would write a minimal server. Then I would write a minimal client. Then I would have the client call the server. After that, members of my team can start working on different features, which means modifying the client and the server to provide that feature.

Writing code this way isn’t a license to be stupid. You still have to think hard about how you want things to work. It does, however, free you from a lot of tedious and unnecessary details when planning. IE, you should be focusing on what messages are passed back and forth, and the general content of those messages, not specific parameters and fields.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment